top of page

Alternative Service Experiences

As sorority women, we talk a lot about serving our community and the impact that we can have. I am fortunate enough to serve as the Philanthropy Chair for our organization where I aim to inspire my sisters and put their passion for volunteering into action. One way that this has been done this year is through service programs called ASE’s (Alternative Service Experiences). These programs can best be described as alternative spring breaks. During our spring break we had multiple sisters travel internationally to Belize, the Dominican Republic and Puerto Rico as well as domestically to Tennessee, Georgia and Ohio to work with community partners that focus on a variety of social justice issues. All of these programs are intentionally planned by student peer leaders and accompanied by a member of Appalachian State’s faculty and staff. I had the opportunity to serve as a peer leader for my ASE this spring break. Although the planning was sometimes overwhelming, I wouldn’t trade the experience for the world.

The program that I led traveled to Atlanta, Georgia and was titled “Fighting the Stigma,” as we would be working with organizations that assist those with HIV/Aids. The rate of HIV/Aids in Atlanta is approaching the rate of a third world country. We created relationships with several organizations that helped educate us about the community that they serve through our volunteer process. Our tasks throughout the week consisted of preparing and packaging nutritious meals for those affected by HIV/Aids to putting together safe sex kits that were distributed throughout the community. Each night, I led a reflection that forced the participants on the program to think about their impact on these organizations and examine the value of our work. Leading reflection was my greatest challenge throughout this experience. Even though I enjoy serving as a leader, I found it difficult to come up with questions and activities that stimulated deep conversation within the group. However, as the week went on, our reflections became so meaningful that the group was crying together by the end of the week.

Going on an ASE has been an unforgettable and life changing experience. Through this experience, I have learned that being a volunteer in my community is only one small role that I can play. I now strive to become an active citizen in my community by making intentional choices and valuing my community along with its members. I believe that the benefit of experiencing the issues of in a community is having the ability to see them first hand and educate one’s self on the root causes. It is easy to judge another person when you don’t know their story or personal struggles. Because I went on my particular program, I now have a better understanding of non-profit organizations, the strong and hardworking people that work there and the people that they serve. I also have a better understanding of socio-economic status, race and those who suffer from addiction and how that can impact one’s life. I believe that experiences build a person’s life and I am overwhelming glad that I chose this experience to help build mine.

If you are a student at Appalachian State, enjoy building relationships with others and are looking for an incredible opportunity, I encourage you to consider going on an Alternative Service Experience. They are offered during spring, winter and fall breaks. More information on ASE can be found at ase.appstate.edu.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page