top of page

We Grow in Alpha Delta Pi

Even though I don’t like to admit it all the time, I came to college completely ready to jump into the recruitment life. I grew up with the idea of exploring the Greek system. I wanted desperately to be a young woman walking around Appalachian’s campus with my head held high, letters on my chest and most importantly, true friends by my side. What I’ve gained these past three and a half years was more than I could ever imagine. Would you ever think the shy small town girl would be so eager to join one of the biggest clubs on her campus where she – wait a minute – didn’t know a soul? Yeah I wouldn’t either. I’ve surprised myself while being at ASU, and that’s why I encourage others to find their homes, wherever they may be. I also try to encourage those to step out of their comfort zones, an important factor when searching for the place we all belong. So there I was. 18 with a new haircut, anxiously awaiting the Friday afternoon in September that would change my life forever. The recruitment experience, or as my dad calls it: the NFL Draft. Because sororities are totally supposed to change your life right? Wrong. These organizations bring out the best of who you already are. That’s what I love about the Greek system at Appalachian. We encourage new members to come into college being their authentic self. Changing who you are and pretending to like things you don’t ultimately give you a confusing path that won’t produce the finish line of happiness we all hope for. Since becoming a sister of ADPi, I have learned how to give the best parts of myself to others by growing into who I was made to be. I have worked hard for an organization I love because of what it has in return given me: a confidence I always needed.

We’ve gone from the giddy girls clomping down the student union steps during recruitment to young women discussing our futures over a homemade Friendsgiving meal (whole turkey and all). Growing with these women has become a major blessing in my life. It’s more than college and more than the big party everyone says joining a sorority will become. Life as an ADPi has brought the joy that I always wanted to experience in my early adult life. Learning how to process the problems of being on my own for the first time would have been much harder without the support from these women. It may sound cheesy, but this sorority is more than just a club–it’s a lifestyle. And no, not in the way you may be thinking. Attending chapter meetings has brought lessons of the importance of rituals and traditions. Required sisterhood events have taught me that, even on a busy night, I need to take a break from the stress that continuously causes harm to my soul. Our bible study has given me the chance to find my voice within my faith and the courage to share my thoughts with girls who were complete strangers in the beginning. Through these sometimes stressful opportunities, I’ve been able to get to know a tremendous amount of women who started off the same way I did.

We all took that shaky step up the stairs to our Rho Gamma group meeting spot. We had a Cascades smoothie in one hand and our colorful slip of paper presenting the Panhellenic coat of arms in the other. Our name tags were on our chests. Our minds running through every word we just said to a Greek woman we were trying to impress. Being a senior in ADPi, I reflect back on my recruitment experiences often; knowing all of the ins and outs of a sorority now, I’m able to look back on these memories and smile. I’m grateful because recruitment taught me to have the patience I needed in order to survive in college. This patience soon paid off and I was granted the life-changing experiences with friends who will always mean the world to me. It’s given me the courage to stand up for myself and for an organization created 165 years ago —An organization I’m proud of that runs in my family and celebrates ideals that I have promised to uphold every day. An organization that inspires us to act kindly towards others, to honor those who have come before us and those we haven’t met yet, and to take responsibility for our actions. Being a member of Alpha Delta Pi has prepared me more for my post-grad life than I ever thought possible. I’m truly lucky to have experienced seven semesters of laughing, drinking coffee, crying, hiking, studying, and dancing with women I know will care for me forever. Having a tribe is important and I’m so glad I found one that showers me with love in azure blue and white.

Our open motto describes the way we all try to live our lives. We remember that we wouldn’t be here as a successful organization without our sisters around us, and that’s why we grow in Alpha Delta Pi. Through the hard times when we may not want to, our sisters still work to help us grow every day. That’s why We Live For Each Other.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page